Context is Key

(I’m enrolled in a rather large online course for the next 12 weeks, and my involvement with that work is likely to take over my content here to a certain extent! Connectivism and Connective Knowledge is a course that is meant to explore the concepts of connectivism and connective knowledge and explore their application as a framework for theories of teaching and learning.)

By the time the course is over, I hope to have a clue about what that all means. 🙂

Meanwhile, my enrollment has already changed my perspective a bit; the course members are from all over the world, and some of their comments in our round of introductions made me realize that my previous tag line, “A college counselor thinks out loud,” might have been providing inadequate context for a casual first-time visitor. I think I’ve been thinking about a generic imaginary reader as being American by default, and that’s certainly a habit worth breaking.

So… new tag line. I’m now an American college counselor thinking out loud.

I hope other course members will find me here, or possibly follow me on Twitter. (Twitter newbies might find my Twitter Newbie Guide helpful.)

Right now I’m wondering how we’ll all sort ourselves out; when we did tech training here at my school earlier this year, we were asked to assign ourselves into a beginner, intermediate, or expert “track,” and I was surprised by how simple and effective that was. Interested to see how groups form up in CCK08.

Posted on September 8, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

