Pop Quiz!

Imaginary Pre-Assessment
How do the statements below resonate with you?
1 strongly disagree
2 disagree
3 neutral or no strong feeling about this
4 agree
5 strongly agree

(Note: I could create a form that feeds into a spreadsheet and make a real quiz of this, but for the moment I’m more interested in the questions than anyone’s answers… feel free to answer in your mind as you go, though… or chime in down in the comments!)

__ I would be happy to spend some time working to learn about opportunities for integrating more technology into my teaching, but where will I find the time? What should I give up?

__ Learning needs to be relevant in order to be lasting.

__ My students are so far ahead of where I am, technologically speaking, that I don’t think I could ever get “out in front” and truly teach them.

__ Absolutely students need to learn about how to engage and create with digital media. Where does that show up in our curriculum map?

__ I think that in order to be a great teacher, I need to be a great learner. Digital and social media are not really a part of my life as a learner.

__ I think that in order to be a great teacher, I need to be a great learner. Digital and social media have transformed my life as a learner.

__ I think that in order to be a great teacher, I need to be a great communicator. The skills I’ve developed as a teacher have been honed over years and years of practice. I’m not sure how helpful it would be to have me floundering at the front of the class.

__ We need to get our heads out of the sand. Digital media literacy continues its rise in importance as a key skill in every discipline and profession.

__ Young people’s involvement in the digital world has increased exponentially in recent years. Someone needs to help them understand the dangers inherent in these new contexts.

__ Young people’s involvement in the digital world has increased exponentially in recent years. Someone needs to help them understand how their engagement could move from a primarily social orientation to a learning orientation.

__ We are living in an age in which students can find teachers anywhere, anytime. The days of “silo-ed” content are over.

__ We are dealing with a crisis of attention. Multi-tasking doesn’t work. If we don’t get a handle on this, our students will lack the skills necessary to undertake any serious sustained work.

__ The new technological fads come and go so quickly that it’s pretty much impossible to figure out which ones would be worth teaching.

__ Increasingly, both students and their teachers see the challenges facing the world as multidisciplinary, and the need for collaboration great. Over the past few years, the emergence of a raft of new (and often free) tools has made collaboration easier than at any other point in history.

__ Education should not be about entertainment value.

__ We need to meet students where they are and go from there. Where they are is online.

What questions would you add?

(Pencil image via Flickr.
Some of the questions are lifted directly from the 2010 Horizon Report.
Hattip to @Agins213 and @jswiatek, who got me thinking.)
Posted on March 5, 2010, in big picture. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

