The Poppyseed Principle

(image via Flickr, used under a Creative Commons license)

I used to work in an office that was just a few flights of stairs and courtyard away from a bagel place. Inevitably, then, on some rushed mornings, a bagel became my breakfast.

On one such day, I went into the bathroom down the hall from my office at about 4pm and was horrified to discover that I had a poppyseed stuck between two of my front teeth. It must have been there for hours!

At that moment, the Poppyseed Principle was born. Ever since then, if I see something that falls into the category of “I’d want someone to tell me,” in my life, I try to take a moment to give them a friendly, private (when possible) heads up. It has been an unexpectedly nice way to connect with people; folks have been invariably grateful.

And back in the office where it all began? I switched to sesame seed bagels!


Posted on January 25, 2012, in big picture. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Those were some good bagels. Thanks for the happy memory, and I'm sorry I didn't notice the seeds! (I'd like to think I'd've mentioned it.)

Leave a Reply

